Systems on Planning

Jefferies Jiang
1 min readMar 10, 2022

I organise my life using three different ways.
Life is unpredictably unpredictable. And there’s nothing wrong with that; otherwise, it’d be tedious. However, there is work to be done and responsibilities to be met in life. While complete control is unachievable, I need to gain control over at least a portion of my life. To do so, I’ve implemented three different methods to assist me arrange my life. One system to assist me in planning and completing tasks. One system that encourages me to think and learn. And one method to organise and make sense of the massive amounts of data I was bombarded with every day.

Make a plan and follow through.
There is a wealth of material available about productivity and productivity systems. The majority of these Ideas and tactics are great, but some of them are tough to implement in your daily life. Over the years, I’ve experimented with a variety of productivity systems. I’ve found a system that works for me after trying numerous of these different approaches.
To help me plan and get things done,

I now use a purely analogue, paper-based planner. I used to utilise a totally digital or a digital plus analogue system before that. But I’m finding that I’m enjoying utilising paper more these days. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m getting older, but I find that using a paper planner is less stressful. When I use a paper planner, I realise that I am more mindful, less distracted, and more driven.

--

--