What I Learned During The Coronavirus Outbreak.

Jefferies Jiang
3 min readMay 25, 2020

--

Why did children who were born during the Great Depression fared so well?

I am in Gen Z, and I understand that those who may be unhappy because their careers might be in jeopardy. As you know from my other posts, I am planning to be a developer in the software industry. I view this challenge as an opportunity to learn and grow. I know careers are in jeopardy, money is lost, and stocks have plummeted. I know that people have passed away, streets are closed and the game itself has been defeated in sports. But I know that Thomas Jefferson wrote in the Declaration of Independence: “We hold these truths to be evident, that all men are created equal, endowed by our creator with certain unalienable rights, and among these are life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness”, although this quote is partially correct, since all men do not have the same desires, or opinions, and that being authentic matters, we as citizens of the world need to understand that happiness is required to achieve our goals, and not the other way around. We need to be happily earn billions of billions of dollars by the age of 30 through technology, we need to happily get the education we want, but most importantly, we need to understand how to happily overcome this virus, just as how Jews survived the Nuremberg Laws, just as how G.Is liberated France through Omaha Beach and just as how Americans fought through the American Revolution to freedom. To be happy, first we need to have a positive attitude and be emotionally mature as well as feeling the negative emotions and looking for the benefit of that in certain situations.

Now, I do not recommended suppressing negatives emotions or feelings to be happy, negatives emotions have their benefits as well, I believe everybody should embrace the suck, but I don’t think people should feel sucked because of this issue as there is historical evidence that this issue is positive and that there is no difference. IF YOU HAVE MENTAL ISSUES, PLEASE CONTACT YOUR MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL.

  1. How to Work From Home.

This skill can be applied to any case, like if you have work that is due but you need home time to complete it. I learned about getting dressed, putting on music, and putting on music to be successful.

2. How to Use Zoom.

This skill can be helpful during COVID-19, but also in your professional and personal life. Zoom is more complex than FaceTime, but I could do things like share my screen.

3. How to Avoid Scams.

I learned about things including Ponzi Schemes, Pump and Dumps, etc. This is important because this can help you avoid scams in a leadership position, but also keeping an open-enough mind to be successful.

I hope you have a different perspective on this virus, because that’s what people have done throughout history to take advantage of these things. You might be skeptical because I am in Gen Z and because I am young but I hope you enjoy your life after the virus by taking advantage by learning things.

A quote I found on Wikipedia on how the G.I Generation fared in their adult years because of the Great Depression and World War 2.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greatest_Generation

--

--